Skip to content

Hawaiian Electric Powers Up First Utility-Scale Biofuel Generator

January 29, 2011

HECO’s Kahe power plant was the first to use 100% biofuel.

Hawaiian Electric Company (HECO) has successfully powered up Kahe #3’s ninety-megawatt generator to full capacity using 100 percent sustainably produced palm oil. This demonstration was the culmination of a series of tests that HECO has been conducting in advance of its commitment to adopt biofuels in support of Hawaii’s renewable energy goals.

This is a giant step forward for Hawaii, which has remained dependent on imported petroleum for 90% of its energy needs.  By switching to renewable fuels HECO is encouraging the rapid growth of local producers and suppliers of biofuels.

“We believe this is the first time a utility-scale steam unit has fired on 100% biofuel at 100% capacity,” said Robbie Alm, Hawaiian Electric executive vice president. “This successful test confirms that biofuels – locally grown to the greatest extent possible – can be an important part of Hawaii’s clean energy future, along with energy from the sun, wind, ocean, waste-to-energy, hydro and geothermal.”

The test uses sustainably produced crude palm oil blended with palm stearin, an inedible by-product of palm oil refining usually used to make candles and soap. The oil for the test run was suppled by Sime Darby, a Malaysian multi-national corporation.

HECO’s demonstration showed that not only did the palm oil fuel perform well operationally, but also burned cleaner producing less visible emissions and lower nitrogen oxide (NOX) and sulfur dioxide (SO2) levels than the previously used low sulfur petroleum fuel oil.

Testing will continue and be expanded to evaluate continuous 24-hour operation on Hawaiian Electric’s energy management system. Results will assess the possible use of sustainable biofuels in Hawaiian Electric, Maui Electric and Hawai‘i Electric Light companies’ other steam generating units.

In April 2010, Hawaiian Electric also issued a Request for Proposals for a long-term supply of biofuels made from feedstocks produced and processed within the state of Hawaii for use on Oahu, Maui, Molokai, Lanai and Hawaii Island.

Hawaii now has many new prospects for replacing not only generator fuel oil, but diesel and aviation fuels as well from locally produced, renewable fuel crops.  There has been significant investments made in the cultivation and production of algae oil as feedstock for biodiesel that can be blended with green waste and cellulose derived alcohols (ethanol).

The Hawaii Clean Energy Initiative set an ambitious goal of 70% renewable energy by 2030, and achieving it seems more promising than ever.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2013 6:38 am

    Superb site you have here but I was curious about if you knew of any
    message boards that cover the same topics talked about here?
    I’d really love to be a part of community where I can get feed-back from other knowledgeable individuals that share the same interest. If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Thanks!

  2. May 7, 2013 8:17 am

    Very shortly this website will be famous among all blogging people, due to it’s nice articles

  3. June 1, 2013 5:24 am

    Excellent post. I used to be checking continuously this weblog and I’m impressed! Very useful information particularly the remaining phase 🙂 I handle such information much. I was seeking this particular information for a long time. Thanks and good luck.

  4. June 9, 2013 9:40 pm

    I don’t know whether it’s just me or if everyone else
    experiencing problems with your website. It appears as though some
    of the text in your content are running off the screen.
    Can someone else please provide feedback and let me know if this
    is happening to them too? This may be a issue with my web browser
    because I’ve had this happen before. Kudos

  5. June 10, 2013 3:44 pm

    Howdy would you mind letting me know which hosting company you’re working with? I’ve
    loaded your blog in 3 completely different internet browsers and I must
    say this blog loads a lot quicker then most.
    Can you recommend a good web hosting provider at a honest price?
    Kudos, I appreciate it!

  6. June 30, 2013 3:38 pm

    Hey there! Someone in my Facebook group shared this
    website with us so I came to check it out. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers!
    Excellent blog and excellent design and style.

  7. July 2, 2013 5:59 pm

    I usually do not drop many remarks, however i did a few searching and wound up here
    Hawaiian Electric Powers Up First Utility-Scale Biofuel Generator
    |. And I do have a couple of questions for you if it’s allright. Is it only me or does it appear like a few of these responses look as if they are coming from brain dead individuals? 😛 And, if you are posting at additional sites, I would like to keep up with anything new you have to post. Would you make a list of every one of all your community sites like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

  8. July 9, 2013 5:37 pm

    Hi! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading this post reminds me of my old room mate! He always kept talking about this. I will forward this page to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

  9. July 18, 2013 9:25 pm

    I must thank you for the efforts you have put in penning this website.
    I’m hoping to view the same high-grade blog posts by you later on as well. In truth, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my very own blog now 😉

  10. July 30, 2013 2:10 am

    Have you ever considered about adding a little bit more than just your articles?
    I mean, what you say is important and all. Nevertheless just imagine if you added some great
    images or videos to give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with pics and videos, this website
    could certainly be one of the most beneficial in its niche.
    Good blog!

  11. August 8, 2013 4:39 pm

    I am curious to find out what blog platform you are utilizing?
    I’m having some small security issues with my latest site and I’d like
    to find something more safe. Do you have any recommendations?

  12. January 27, 2014 6:00 pm

    I loved as much as you will receive carried out right here.
    The sketch is tasteful, your authored material stylish.

    nonetheless, you command get got an nervousness over that you wish be delivering the following.

    unwell unquestionably come further formerly again as exactly the same nearly a lot often inside case you shield this increase.

Leave a Reply

